6 Comments

  1. July 19, 2010 at 11:58 am

    […] July 19, 2010 Broken-Hearted Blues (via Conjuring My Muse) Posted by richardsblah under Uncategorized Leave a Comment  This post is dedicated with great affection to JDB. It was the summer of 1978. I was thirteen, the only girl in a group of five guys who knew each other from school, the neighborhood, or from playing on sports teams together. The leader of the pack, let's call him Vic, was like a brother to me. We had known each other since kindergarten. Both of our homes operated according to the revolving door policy–all were welcome whenever they turned up. H … Read More […]

  2. richardsblah said,

    July 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Love it! I’m a sucker for nostalgia, and the dreary 45 on an endless loop is required remembrance for people of our generation. As teenagers, we experience everything with the volume turned up so we can learn how to mute the things that need to be tempered. It’s a baptism by fire, and most of us get it twice. We go through it and then we watch our kids go through it, the second time with a wry smile hidden away.

    Good to see you blogging again. πŸ˜€

  3. Ken Wade said,

    November 14, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Wonderful musings, especially for a “technical” writer. And Richard, if you’re lucky like me you’ll go through it trice. I’m quite sure my grandson will break a few hearts.

    Nice blog Margaret.

    • November 17, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      Thank you, Ken. The passion for creative writing was a part of me long before I ever knew what technical writing was. One feeds the family; the other feeds the soul. πŸ˜‰

  4. bronxboy55 said,

    February 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    My sixteen-year-old son has recently felt the sting of a girl’s fleeting affections. In fact, he was near tears today at the dinner table. I can see the confusion in his eyes as he looks back, wondering what happened, and tries to look forward, wondering what will happen. And he turns, predictably, to music. (I’ve heard “Yesterday” by the Beatles more in the past five days than in the past twenty years.) Your post describes perfectly those feelings of euphoria, pain, and helplessness. I’m hoping my son will read it.

  5. February 20, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    It’s a helpless feeling watching someone so sad and knowing there’s nothing you can do or say to make it better. When people say they’d love to return to their teen years, I scream “no way.” I had my fun but there was a lot of turmoil, too.

    I hope your son is smiling again soon.


Leave a Reply

